Why use Ovirt

Ovirt offers the flexibility that the cloud requires. It is reliable, and configurable to meet the needs of any organization. I choose it mainly for the networking capabilities. We have many network related challenges here at CloudSpin, and Ovirt integrated into a usable, and stable solution with very few issues. I will run down a quick list of my thoughts on Ovirt vs Openstack.

Openstack

Has anyone else tried to configure neutron, and get it to work properly. My challenge is I only have one public ipv4 address, and neutron’s ipv6 support was too difficult to understand. I couldn’t get anything to work correctly.

How many services does it take to setup the cloud… In Openstack too many

Openstack is a great product for the enterprise, and it is suited for an environment that is different from mine.

Ease of Deployment

Packstack works great, and I have used to to deploy an environment where I had control of ALL the variables. The script was able to configure and deploy 12 servers without issue. Manually deploying Openstack is another deal, and requires knowledge and experience in deploying the system. I was able to manually deploy Openstack in a lab environment while deployed to A-Town with my only issue being the speed of my internet. I had all the services running, and it took me two days to deploy fully. I had 3 physical servers, and deployed it to 2 physical, and 5 virtual.

Ovirt

Networking was a snap, because I can configure it to coexist with my current infrastructure, of which I am quite fond of. I like the way my network is, and I didn’t really want to change it to meet the needs of my cloud… I think that is suppose to be the other way around.  And if I want to support neutron with Ovirt, I can do that too.

Ovirt needs a Manager, and Nodes, and Storage. None of which are difficult to deploy

Ovirt is a better product for the enterprise because I feel it scales well, and seems to scale in a more stable manner. I was able to add storage and host nodes in hours without issue.

Ease of Deployment

First setup your network, then your storage. Common to Openstack and Ovirt.

Here is the defining difference

yum install ….

follow the simple directions, and you are done.

 

I mainly choose Ovirt due to my unique network requirements, which your organization my or may not have. I needed native, unmolested IPv6 support, which I was able to achieve with Ovirt.

Leave a comment